The model T

The hood of the model t is much more than just a hood. It is the gateway to modernism. The hood of the model T set the way for all other cars. This hood is a representation of more than just a car, but it represents the change in America that would allow us to grow and become the advanced country we are today. This hood allowed people to go further than ever before in the 1920s and that distance grew and grew as time went on. Without the model T we would all be living on a farm, or in a large city instead of the suburbs where a majority of all americans live today. The model T was a revolutionary piece of machinery both in the 1920s and today.

IMG_0487.PNGFor my research I found the parts of the model T that made it unique and that all cars after would look back on for design ideas. Initially I was going to create a whole running car but soon realized that that would not be the best way to show modernism, plus it was not practical for the deadline. Instead I got rid of the less important parts of the car and kept what was necessary. I feel that this whole project was very challenging but at the same time was not overwhelming. This was the first time I have ever created car parts from scratch which made this an extended learning process but thankfully I had some past experience from restoring and fixing boats that I was able to apply to this project. I think what I am most proud of is being able to complete this project with minimal help from others, and the help that I did receive was typically a ride to get parts or tools. During this project I developed my skills in craftsmanship along with engineering and I expanded my knowledge in automobiles which is something that I am passionate about. What I learned from doing this project is that I need to be able to manage my time in a way that won’t stress me out from work piling up.IMG_0486

This project was a challenging process that brought out the best of modernism and the 1920s. Without it we may be falling behind in today’s’ modern world, and we may not be in this school completing these projects, but rather be on farms growing food to sell in the city. Without this hood history would have been changed forever.

Leave a comment